top of page

Our Blog

"Caring for your HEART with our HEARTS."® Since 1993.

Journey of almost three decades of Bare Metal Coronary stent!

29 years ago in Feb 1995, I performed coronary stent procedure on Mr Patrick Huitt . It was my second stent procedure as the Johnson and Johnson Palmaz Schatz Stent was released by FDA in December 1994 completely revolutionizing the world of coronary interventions for ever . I distinctly remember that since aspirin was the only anti platelet therapy available at that time , patients were treated with aspirin and intravenous heparin and started on warfarin and kept in hospital until INR was therapeutic. This typically meant 4/5 day post intervention stay in the hospital. Ticlodipine was introduced in 1996 and DAPT therapy was a paradigm shift in post PCI patients shortening hospital stay to one day . Clopidogrel ( Plavix) was approved in November 1997 and immediately replaced ticlodipine due to its better safety profile and excellent efficacy . Drug eluting stents were introduced in May 2004 and have became the standard of care ever since as they replaced Bare Metal stents due to significantly reduced incidence of instent restenosis. Mr Huitt has followed regularly all these 29 years . Fortunately he has not needed any additional coronary interventions in three decades . He just celebrated his 82nd Birthday and has been blessed as he has stayed out of the hospital throughout the 29 years except one day of hospitalization for a procedure. He loves living life to the fullest and has a wonderful sense of humor. Wishing Mr Patrick Huitt many more decades of good health ! ( posted with his permission) #drsuneja , #coronaryintevention, #Cardiology , #cardiotwitter ,Amar A. Desai, MD, MPH  Jag Singh Deepak L. Bhatt, MD, MPH Alan Lumsden Neal Kleiman Neil G. Dr. Samin K. Sharma Sachin H. Jain, MD, MBA Sunil Rao Abbott Boston Scientific Cardiology Johnson & Johnson Medtronic Cardiac and Vascular  American College of Cardiology European Society of Cardiology Marc Harrison Roxana Mehran Arvind Bhimaraj MD, MPH. Eric Topol, MD Dr. Nicholas Desai Jagat Narula MD PhD Srihari S. Naidu Martha GulatiAmi Bhatt, MD


Featured Posts
bottom of page